Breastfeeding 101, the “duh” and “duh-er” version

May 24, 2010 § 3 Comments

As a new mom, breastfeeding was the single most daunting task to me.  You can prepare and practice other things all you want with a (borrowed) baby, but you don’t exactly lactate until the real deal happens.  Luckily for me, she latched on perfectly and we never had any problems.

Traveling around with a breastfed baby worked out pretty well early on, too.  I would plan ahead and make sure I had a bottle ready to bring with us because I thought it would be easier, but I soon found that prepping the bottle was difficult.  See, her highness likes the temperature to be *just so*.  I learned this the hard way when she was 4 weeks old in a Borders of all places.  There she was, PISSED because the bottle was too cold and it wasn’t heating up fast enough and clearly making sure everyone knew about it.  And despite me thinking that the children’s section of the bookstore wasn’t a “suitable” place to feed her, I threw my cover-up on and fed her right then and there, wary of suspicious eyes and hoping no one would mind.  And guess what?  Nothing happened except that my baby was happy and I quickly realized that there really isn’t an un-“suitable” place to feed her. DUH.

I often throw on the HH on out in public.  Not so much for me (you all obviously know I am not modest), but I know it makes other people uncomfortable (surprisingly not just men!).  When feeding the girl the other day at a friend’s home I had my HH on because there were a bunch of people there, and her daughter and a friend came up asking what I was doing.  I explained to them that I was feeding the baby, and they asked why she was covered up.  I was dumbfounded and had no good answer for them.  Why?  Because there isn’t one!  They asked why she was under there and if they could see me feed the baby, and I was just so touched by the whole situation.  These two adorable girls may just be moms one day, and I felt like I was setting such a shitty bad example covering up an obviously natural and normal situation.  I wasn’t in a crazy public place (not that it matters!) and had no reason to cover her up. Plain and simple.  DUH.  Again.

So here I am, reminded to take my own damn advice that there isn’t really a reason to bottle feed or cover up when it’s not necessary.  I never really thought I’d become such a breastfeeding advocate.  I always figured the crunchy-hippies were a little too gung-ho about it (I’m suspicious – so sue me) and I wasn’t planning to do it for too long, but now it’s become something incredibly important to me and I hope to continue it as long as needed.  I know it’s still fairly controversial right now (I know many of my generation were not breastfed as it was uncommon in the late ’70s), but maybe by the time those girls are moms it won’t be an issue at all.*

50 Reasons for Breastfeeding Anytime, Anywhere

* Non-Mom Bashing Disclaimer:  Please note that I personally know dear friends who are either unable to breastfeed or who have chosen to not breastfeed their babies, and this is by no means any judgment upon them or others.  It is one of the most personal choices you can make, and everyone’s situation and child is different, and I am just thankful for having the option to choose to do this for myself and child.

§ 3 Responses to Breastfeeding 101, the “duh” and “duh-er” version

  • Eater says:

    NSFW*

    * … if your intolerant employer considers breastfeeding shameful.

  • Jackie says:

    Somehow I missed this post, so a belated amen. I was so discreet & stayed at home way too much. This time around modesty is way out the door. BFing is so much more convenient (for me – except damn pumping) & economical. But then again, I might be classified as a crunchy hippie in some books…

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Breastfeeding 101, the “duh” and “duh-er” version at mingaling.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

