Blood On the Walls: A Thanksgiving Story

November 28, 2004 § Leave a comment

It took about 2 hours to get out of the city on Wednesday, and another 6 to get to Orlando. The rich golds and reds of the landscape soon turned to the everpresent greens and palms of Florida. Mom surprised me with a new matress in the guest room, and my spine thanked her profusely.

Thursday morning the phone rang – it was the boy’s mom. He had some complications from his surgery – a blood vessel burst and he lost about 3 liters of blood. 3 liters from my bathroom to the kitchen. He called 911, but went into shock on the way. They had to cauterize something in his nose (which apparently is like soldering body parts – lovely!). She didn’t want me to come home yet, as he looked like he’d be fine. After entirely too many hours, he was finally able to utter an “I’m okay” on the phone and I felt somewhat better. His mom really is Supermom, so he was in the best of hands.

Words cannot express how thankful I am that the boy is okay and that the gods let me have him for just a little longer. On the drive back to our apartment, I saw the warmth of the reds and golds and looked forward to the comfort of home.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Blood On the Walls: A Thanksgiving Story at mingaling.

meta

