Whackadoodles in the ATL

April 26, 2005 § 3 Comments

Team Whackadoodle is rolling into the ATL this weekend, prompting me to make some plans and outlined agendas.  They are really just on their way up to Nashvegas for a family trip that I fortunately can’t make due to work commitments.  However, I’ve convinced them to stay for a couple of days.  Mom and her boyfriend will be staying with us, and my sister and her husband finally listened to my advice and will be staying at The Highland Inn.  I really want them to experience the city that I’ve come to love.

The city that I’ve come to love.  Not touristy things like Underground Atlanta or, god forbid, the World of Coke.

So here’s the short list of options.  We’ll definitely walk to Piedmont Park from my place at least once.  ATL people, what else am I forgetting?

Centennial Park
Oakland Cemetery
Botanical Garden
Cyclorama
Virginia Highland & Little 5 Points neighborhoods
Dinner at Six Feet Under

§ 3 Responses to Whackadoodles in the ATL

  • Lady Crumpet says:

    If you end up brunching, there’s the Flying Biscuit. You have the location in Midtown, but I prefer the one in Candler Park (near Little 5).

    Ice cream at Jake’s?

  • Oliver says:

    Disco night at the Clermont Lounge? (on second thought…)
    Pitcher of PBR at Moe’s & Joe’s? (I’m not helping, am I?)
    Live jazz at Churchill Grounds & the Whispering Room (directly next to the Fox Theatre).
    Two dogs, rings, and an FO at the Varsity.
    Jerk chicken at Eats.
    Dinner at the Collonade or Mary Mac’s Tea Room followed by desert at Krispy Kreme.
    High Museum of Art.
    Improv at Whole World Theater.

  • Mary says:

    I think all your ideas are great but can’t really think of anything to add. The High? Are they into museums? Not sure what exhibit they have right now…

    What about going to see the guy who stands on the corner of Ponce and Briarcliff and has the enormous wang? You know the guy, he’s always wearing bike shorts?
    That’s the first attraction I always take out-of-towners to.

    I love that you call them Team Whackadoodle. 🙂

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Whackadoodles in the ATL at mingaling.

meta

