Do Not Disturb

May 18, 2005 § 4 Comments

One of the worst things about our "industrial chic meets loft" office aesthetic is that there are no enclosed offices.  The only enclosed areas are privacy/conference rooms with their cutesy sliding-garage doors to go with the industrial theme.  Therefore, everyone is out in the open, hovering and impromptu meetings around someone else’s desk are common, and it’s extremely distracting especially if it’s a day that I actually decide I want to get something done.

However, since I’ve gotten my nifty little iPod things are different.  It seems that people bother me a lot less.  They still come up to me, but see that I’ve got that little white cord and ear buds on and actually decide to walk away and email me instead.  It’s a miracle.

And this song?  Totally makes you feel like a rock star, strutting about… even if it’s only to the copier.

Spoon – I Turn My Camera On

§ 4 Responses to Do Not Disturb

  • Cyanbane says:

    I would have my headphones surgically implanted if I were able to. I think I have my headphones on more during the work day than I have them off. Also ‘Gimmie Fiction’ rocks I think “My Mathmatical Mind” could be my favorite off the CD. I have had that and Tegan and Sara’s “So Jealous” piped through my ear canal for the last 3 days.

  • Paulie says:

    — and just in case you didn’t know, Spoon will be at the Variety Playhouse on June 1st.

  • bobafred says:

    The headphone trick doens’t work in my office. Sometimes I try to just sit there with the headphones on and no music playing. People still stop by.

  • hollismb says:

    I do the same damn thing at work. Then again, I just went to the beach with a bunch of people, and did the same damn thing to them too.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Do Not Disturb at mingaling.

meta

