Film Fest-o-rain-a

June 13, 2005 § Leave a comment

The weather’s been awful lately.  Weeks of rain, followed by a day or two of sun, then more rain thanks to a forming hurricane to the southwest of us.  All our weekend plans of parks and swimming and sun have been abandoned and we’ve found some respite in coffee & reading at Octane.  Oh, and I think I’ve watched more movies lately than I have in the last two years.

Old Boy:  Very very good.  Disturbing and dark, but I wasn’t disappointed at all.  Great ending.  I’m also extremely proud of the boy who suggested a movie that’s Korean with subtitles.

Harold & Kumar Go to White Castle:  Two Asian sidekick (yes, India is in Asia, surprise) comedy.  Much funnier than expected, and we weren’t even drunk or stoned.  Recommended.

The Manchurian Candidate (new version):  Good.  I was impressed with the flashback scenes, but I still like the first one better.

Star Wars Episode III:  Revenge of the Sith:  Entertaining.  I liked the fact that I got to see Kashyyk since I’m obsessed with wookies and Chewbacca for some reason.  Anakin was whiny to the end, though.  Okay, enough dorking out.

The Forgotten:  Entertaining and chilling all the way up until the last 10 minutes.  Then it got completely and utterly stupid.  Seriously sucky "writer couldn’t come up with anything better" ending.  Argh.

Cinderella Man:  Sweet story, and Renee Zellweger didn’t annoy me half as much as she normally does.  I guess I didn’t consider Russell Crowe a good actor prior to this, but he is.  It’s a Ron Howard movie, so bring your kleenex and expect a happy ending.


Mr. and Mrs. Smith
:  Pretty mindless entertainment, but fun for a rainy day.  Angelina Jolie seems to play the same persona over and over again, but I guess it’s okay since she’s hot.  I love Brad Pitt’s comedic acting.  Plus, it’s funny to watch the boy watch Brad since he totally has a man-crush on him.

I also saw the first episode of Into the West and found it entertaining enough.  I think I just really want to see Felicity and her carelessly tousled curls rough it on the frontier.  The "wild west" theme amazes me to no end.  I would have totally died before I reached 18 from scarlet fever or typhoid or no air conditioning or no toilet paper.  Totally.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Film Fest-o-rain-a at mingaling.

meta

