Adventures in Unemployment: Part I

August 1, 2005 § 2 Comments

I’ve got two weeks off before I start my new job.  I’m thrilled, of course, to have the time to do whatever I want with.  Rest, relax, and … um… damn, I should have planned something.  So today I started out doing errands, but that only took about an hour.  It was quite cloudy and yucky, so I decided to forgo the 1:30 Braves game and head OTP.

The Buford Highway Farmers Market is always an interesting place to go.  Although my fave Asian market is 99 Ranch, the BFM is neat because they carry a lot of Hispanic products including giant packages of freshly made tortillas (they’re still warm!) for only 99 cents.  Last time I ate half the package with the free salsa verde while shopping.  The aisles are divided by country to help the confused tell between Vietnamese, Japanese, and Chinese products.  I stocked up on necessities (soy sauce, rice, man-toh, etc.) and looked for a new tea set (no luck).  Their veggies are great, but they have a poor selection of fruit compared to the De Kalb Farmers Market.  They also don’t have nearly as much weird meats as 99 Ranch.

What they do have, however, is a very small Korean lady in a black and white jumper who sings along to MIDI music while trying to get you to sample even more weird Asian drinks.  It looked like a Korean brand longan drink.  I shook my head politely, wondering who gave her that damn microphone.

Buford Highway Farmers MarketPiss and SweatMmm mmm MSGEelsScore!

§ 2 Responses to Adventures in Unemployment: Part I

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Adventures in Unemployment: Part I at mingaling.

meta

