Junkie

September 27, 2005 § Leave a comment

The first step is admitting you have a problem.  I have a problem.  I am a complete news junkie.

At first I thought it was just because I wanted to keep up with the latest happenings and not get lost in conversation.  I’ve always taken an interest in politics and social commentary.  I applauded the invention of the crawl

But now, it’s just gotten worse.  I am a fairly well-connected individual, meaning that I have a tv with cable and a gajillion various news channels.  I will admit to watching Fox News, but only to scream at O’Reilly and satan herself.  It’s actually a very good stress reliever.  I only listen to NPR on my drive to and from work, which is pretty much the majority of my vehicle’s use.  Not only do I always have access to the internet via pc and/ or mobile phone, I’ve got freaking news podcasts uploaded into my iPod.  I have an awful habit of checking CNN.com every 10 minutes, just waiting for the little red banner to appear with "Breaking News:  {insert latest news-obsesssion here}".  I don’t even know why I bother checking, especially when I’ve already get their e-mail alerts.

And the news?  It’s never good.  That’s the nature of the business.  War, hurricanes, the lastest stupid human tricks, it’s all awful.  But I can’t help but take part of the blame (and my sister – she gets a whole bunch of blame, too).  I think the news business knows that there are people like me who just can’t stop watching/listening/reading.  Like a fucking trainwreck.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Junkie at mingaling.

meta

