The Midtown Fighting Triangle

April 26, 2006 § 2 Comments

Last night was gorgeous, so the boy and I decided to walk over to Olive Bistro for some dinner al fresco then headed to Borders for some shopping and browsing.

We tend to lose each other in book stores (too many delightful distractions!), so I made my purchase at the front of the store alone.  While the clerk rang me up, a scrawny pretty boy came up to her and demanded that she call the police immediately because a homeless man was in the store and attacked him.  Hmm.  Next thing I know, said "homeless man" came up and raved and ranted about how it was the pretty boy who shoved him.  Of course, this escalates into a shouting match, all the while I slowly slink away toward a safe distance.  Bystanders either shout at the people involved or just stare.  I went and found the boy and related this all to him, and the first thing he said was that I was like a magnet for these things.

Yeah, I guess that takes us back to Saturday.  I was heading over to Duane’s but had to stop at Greens for some refreshments.  While in the beer section, I hear "fuck man, ow, ow!" and turn to see a cop restraining a man near the beer cave.  He shuffles him away in the back.  Okay, weird, whatever.  I get in line (oh god, the lines on Saturday) and wait forever for a woman to understand the concept of kegs and deposits.  While waiting, two huge men behind me get into a fist fight after exchanging words all the while there’s a cop IN THE STORE.  Several more show up (the precinct is practically next door).  I scurry.

And don’t even get me started on Mr. Crazy Hipster Who’s High On Something going on a rampage in Whole Foods restroom a few weeks ago.

So, on our way out of Borders we see scrawny pretty boy sitting and bitching on his cell phone, homeless guy (I really don’t think he was) in the back of the squad car.  We shake our heads and walk on.

Ah, Midtown.

§ 2 Responses to The Midtown Fighting Triangle

  • Rich says:

    This is exactly why I love living in Midtown. It’s like a circus, but with convenient shopping. 🙂

  • mary says:

    This reminds me of when I almost moved into a quaint vintage apartment building off of Ponce, but decided not to with all the tranny pros across the street. And the time, not to long ago, I think I might have blogged about it, when the bf and I encountered skinheads at the Majestic. Yeah, Midtown.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The Midtown Fighting Triangle at mingaling.

meta

