Is that so?

May 25, 2006 § 3 Comments

Yesterday I was called out as a pessimist.

Is that so?  And if, is that so wrong?

For all intents and purposes, I don’t feel like I’ve ever been much of a pessimist.  Realist?  Hell yes.  Sometimes you just have to go with experience.  But when someone who was responsible for so much faith and hopefulness in my life, one who encouraged the biggest leap of faith I’ve ever dared to stride, calls you one without those very things, it sort of comes full circle.

§ 3 Responses to Is that so?

  • duane says:

    Um, I am going to agree. Being a pessimist isn’t necessarily a bad thing; it is being more realistic than anything.

    And I can’t believe he said that to be honest… especially considering what he knows you did; have all that hope and make a leap of faith. Wow.

  • Paul T. says:

    I think people who bitch about the world and better themselves in spite of its shortcomings are not pessimists. But those who let society’s framework guide their every decision and justify their hesitance are.

    It’s better to be educated and outraged than ignorant and apathetic.

    Pessimism? I think not.

  • Polichick says:

    You’re the pessimist? You’re the pessimist?! I’m giggling. Of what I know about what’s going on, that kind of assertation is so painfully ironic.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Is that so? at mingaling.

meta

