Pins and Needles

June 20, 2006 § 5 Comments

The doctor decided to induce, so they broke my sister’s water this morning and we’re waiting for the pitocin to kick in. 

I’m on pins and needles waiting to hear the news.  My cell phone is glued to me and I keep looking at the clock.  I know she’s just fine – she sounds so happy (yet bored) and my brother in law is awesome and will definitely be there every step of the way.  My mom will be getting there shortly, too, and I know if I ever get to have a kid she’s pretty much the only person I’d trust around my post-birthing hormonal state.  As quiet and reserved as my mom is, it’s pretty much unimaginable to think of her doing anything else but mothering.  She makes it look so effortless.  Sis just sounded so happy, anxious, and a little bit scared, and I did my best to cheer her on.  I mean, why worry about forgetting how to do something when you’ve got like 10 people in and out of your nether regions for hours upon hours?

I hate that I’m not there, and I was almost in tears this morning about it when talking to her.  It’s hard to explain to someone who isn’t that close to their siblings… we moved around so much when we were young and we pretty much stuck together since that’s all we had.  She may be five years younger and completely different, yet it feels like we’re practically the same and can finish each other’s sentences.  She is undoubtedly my best friend. I will see her and the baby in two (long) weeks, but just miss everyone so much it hurts.

*UPDATE:  Mom calls to tell me sis is quite happy with the epidural.  Talked to sis, and she’s pretty much numb from her knees to her back.  Drugs are awesome!

§ 5 Responses to Pins and Needles

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Pins and Needles at mingaling.

meta

