Let’s Play a Game

June 27, 2006 § 2 Comments

I got stuck watching early afternoon talk shows yesterday, and I got creeped out a little (ok, a lot) by the topics.  I kept scrolling through the cable guide and it seemed to get worse and worse by show.  So I thought it would be funny to have a matching game to match topics with the actual tv show.

Some are easy, some are easier.  Give it a go!

Topics:

  1. "When your husband cheats with your Best Friend"
  2. "My teen gets paid for sex… she’s going to boot camp"
  3. "I want my cousin’s man"
  4. "Attacked at work"
  5. "My fiance is a stalker"
  6. "Addicted to love"

Shows:

  1. Dr. Phil
  2. Montel
  3. Maury Povich
  4. Tyra Banks
  5. Oprah
  6. Jerry Springer
§ 2 Responses to Let’s Play a Game

  • I haven’t watched TV in a few days, so this is just a guess.

    Dr. Phil – “Addicted to love”

    I thought — self-help and changing your own behavior, that’s gotta be Dr. Phil

    Montel – “My teen gets paid for sex… she’s going to boot camp”

    Sending people to boot camp seems to be a African-American daytime show theme (think Judge Hatchett). Perhaps it’s to do with unmarried mom viewers trying to find substitute father figures in the form of drill sergeants.

    Maury Povich – “When your husband cheats with your Best Friend”

    Maury Povich (the show) is sleazy.

    Jerry Springer – “I want my cousin’s man”

    Jerry Springer is even sleazier.

    Tyra Banks — “My fiance is a stalker”
    Oprah – “Attacked at work”

    Those two could go either way. Kinda sensational, but not really smutty.

    I’ll give Oprah “Attacked at work” because I suspect that more of her viewers have jobs than Tyra’s.

  • Candy says:

    1. “When your husband cheats with your Best Friend”
    –Dr. Phil

    2. “My teen gets paid for sex… she’s going to boot camp”
    –Maury Povich

    3. “I want my cousin’s man”
    –Jerry Springer

    4. “Attacked at work”
    –Montel

    5. “My fiance is a stalker”
    –Tyra Banks

    6. “Addicted to love”
    –Oprah

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Let’s Play a Game at mingaling.

meta

