Accentless

November 20, 2006 § 5 Comments

I work with a very, very diverse group of people from all over the planet.  Basically every one in my department has one accent or another.  One co-worker recently asked me where I was from, and my response was met with "do people in Florida not have accents?"  I didn’t really know the answer to that, as most people in Florida aren’t really from Florida.  There are a few natives with a slight Florida cracker twang, but nothing close to what you find here in Atlanta.

As for familial traits, my mother’s accent is obviously Chinese, but my father had none.  Born in Detroit and raised in Cleveland, he never picked one up.  My sister and I just never stayed in one place long enough to pick one up, I guess.   And because I don’t have one, I get all swoony when I hear someone who does. 

Anyways, this quiz makes me giggle a bit as I’ve never quite imagined myself in the American "midland."

What American accent do you have?

Your Result: The Midland
 

"You have a Midland accent" is just another way of saying "you don’t have an accent."  You probably are from the Midland (Pennsylvania, southern Ohio, southern Indiana, southern Illinois, and Missouri) but then for all we know you could be from Florida or Charleston or one of those big southern cities like Atlanta or Dallas.  You have a good voice for TV and radio.

Boston
 
The West
 
North Central
 
Philadelphia
 
The Northeast
 
The Inland North
 
The South
 
What American accent do you have?
Take More Quizzes
§ 5 Responses to Accentless

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Accentless at mingaling.

meta

