Everything’s Just Wonderful

February 4, 2007 § 3 Comments

I’ve been sick in bed (again) since Thursday afternoon. This would probably make the 3rd or 4th time I’ve had a cold/ flu in the last 3 months? Hello? Antibodies? Fucking plagued, I tell you.

One bright note on this is that I’ve finally gotten the time to check out all the hype about Lily Allen. At first I read an (errant) comparison of her to (ack) Gwen Stefani, but also read that even the Pitchfork gods had bestowed their approval onto her. Yes, intriguing. But I’m glad I did, and I have to say I’m loving her album All Right, Still.

She’s a pretty cheeky thing from England, with a sort of combination of Blondie-esque pop, reggae, jazz, and The Streets. “LDN” is an extremely catchy tune about walking about town, and “Everything’s Just Wonderful” and its cynicism about life’s shitty ironies totally resonate:

Oh Jesus Christ almighty,
Do I feel alright? No not slightly,
I wanna get a flat I know I can’t afford it,
It’s just the bureaucrats who won’t give me a mortgage,
Well it’s very funny cos I got your fuckin money,
And I’m never gonna get it just because of my bad credit
Oh well I guess I mustn’t grumble,
I suppose that’s just the way the cookie crumbles.

“The Littlest Things” is a gorgeous, grownup piece, though… almost timeless (save the colloquiallisms) with a haunting piano accompaniment. What a strange, fun, and addictive combination.

Listening to her cd is somehow lifting my mood, almost as if it were a sunny 85 degrees instead of chilling 26, and that I’m choosing to be indoors reading Jane instead of out with the living. It’s certainly made the last few moments of consciousness before the meds kick in as painless as possible.

§ 3 Responses to Everything’s Just Wonderful

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Everything’s Just Wonderful at mingaling.

meta

