Lurkers and Blogstalking

April 8, 2007 § 41 Comments

I’ve noticed certain persons who regularly lurk on the site – sometimes reading it every day – who’ve yet to out themselves through comments. I know lurking is common, so it’s totally fine. It took me about forever to write my first comments on the first few blogs I read back in the day, and now some of those fine people are my best friends here in Atlanta and other areas around the country. But there’s no reason you should hesitate to comment. Really, I don’t bite (well, most of the time). Also, I love it when I get linked to someone else’s site – there are just so many out there and it’s cool to see who’s reading me and check out some new blogs and make new contacts. So if you’re in the Atlanta area, you should stop by at one of the atlbloggers meetups – there’s one at Manuel’s this Thursday at 7.

But there’s another side of lurking… let’s call it blogstalking, shall we? It’s obviously people who know me irl and have somehow decided to keep tabs on me through this blog. Of course these aren’t bloggers, because if that were the case it would probably have occurred to them that site visits are tracked.

For instance, a certain friend/ former coworker has been logging on quite often from her newish job at UNCC. Hello there, G! How are things? And family members of a certain ex who also log in regularly from Home Depot, Wake Forest, and Marietta – Hi! It’s been a while! Bet you’re pretty relieved about the way things worked out? Believe me, I am too.

I guess all I can say is that there must be something so overtly fascinating about me in order for these people to check in on my life. Or maybe it’s because they are bored and have nothing better to do? Isn’t that what the internet was invented for? Shit, I’m probably the most guilty at photostalking or googlestalking people. Either way, I’m glad to know I can provide some entertainment for you guys. And I bet you learned a thing or two about pooping, right?

ps. I can also be found on Flickr, MySpace, and Dodgeball. See you there!

§ 41 Responses to Lurkers and Blogstalking

  • shelbinator says:

    I don’t mind lurkers in general but some campus ones creep me out, ’cause I’m always wondering if I bump into them or if it’s a former student or a prof or what. I used to think I knew where you were coming from but now I just can’t put my finger on it; same with a couple other predictables on campus. I think they’re screwing with the network on me.

    Obsessive-compulsive lurkers also weird me out. I have one who comes by sometimes 3, 4, even 5 times in a day. What do they want??? That much desperation and sneaky interest makes me nervous.

  • mingaling says:

    I hear you on the OCD lurkers… sometimes I feel like they don’t think I post enough! I don’t get very many hits from campus, though. I guess they get enough of me in person ;p

  • trav says:

    Geez, okay, I hit your site every couple of days. Sometimes you have funny stuff. Pat yourself on yr back.

    I’d been to couple of ATL flickr/blogger things with Scotty ‘The Body’ Partee, but I always forget to follow up on when the get-togethers are.

  • mingaling says:

    hahaha… Travis, you’re excused ;p Actually now all the meetups take place at Manuel’s to make it a bit easier.

    Sorry I missed your opening, btw. I love it when you post photos of your stuff, too! But i have to say that I have no idea where Scottdale is…

  • Delurker says:

    Hi-
    I’ve commented before, but haven’t in a while, so I’ll “delurk” again. I love reading your blog.

  • mingaling says:

    Thanks! And don’t let the moderation scare you – it’s just to prevent spam πŸ™‚

  • Chris says:

    I have many lurkers. And I don’t quite get it. I guess I just don’t understand why people read me to begin with! πŸ˜‰

  • duane says:

    At least your mom isn’t blog stalking you and lying about it πŸ˜‰

  • HG says:

    HA!! I hope the ex’s family are nice and horrified.

  • beekaye says:

    Aw now I feel like I should comment, so you know I’m not a crazy stalkerish type person. I can’t even remember how I found your blog. Sometimes I just start clicking links and if I end up somewhere interesting, I keep coming back.

    So, hi. I’m in Georgia, but way south, so I won’t be making it to any Atl meetups.

  • mingaling says:

    Hi beekaye! We seem to think along the same lines (I love your post about “the word”). Your nephew is adorable, btw. Being an aunt is so much fun!

  • bobafred says:

    i used to be a stalker.

  • Miss Pickle says:

    I’m just saying hi for the sake of it!

    And yeah, you probably see my IP come up more than once throughout the day, but it’s only because I am SO FREAKING BORED at work most of the time.

    I swear, I’m not stalking.

  • meagan says:

    i don’t have a blog or know anything about blogging so i didn’t even know i was a “lurker” — sorry about that.
    i actually came across your old blog by way of google (i googled “Arden’s Garden cleanse” and your blog came up). i read your entry on it and decided to try it myself — my husband and i actually just finished it yesterday.
    anyway, i saw your new blog linked from there and thought i’d check it out. we have similar tastes in music and local hangouts — and i love photography, so i’ve checked out some of your photos too (which are great, by the way).
    so hi … i’m meagan, and i’m a lurker.

  • james says:

    re: the dodgeball thing, you never actually use it much do you?

  • G says:

    L –

    Actually, it was just that I miss our friendship and it was an easy way to see how you’re doing.

  • Danielle says:

    Hey There – Long time lurker here finally coming out of the woodwork. Found your blog via yelp.com when looking up my new dentist and have returned obsessively………er faithfully ever since. Truly – work boredom and your entertaining posts are equally to blame.

    Anyway – my husband and I moved from DC to Decatur in JUL and – other than our friends – we are missing DC very little. I am in the process of converting my fledgling blog from blogger to word press and uh……not as easy as I had hoped. I am hoping to make it to Manuel’s on Thursday. But even if I don’t, I promise to lurk less and comment more!

    PS – Dr. Feil’s Office Rocks πŸ™‚

  • kristin says:

    I read pretty often – just because you update pretty often, as opposed to some that I read πŸ™‚ I’ve met you once in person at a flickr/blogger meetup, but I don’t have a blog for everyone else to read… AND i’ve been completely boring on flickr lately…

  • Kelley says:

    Ha! I bet the ex’s family will stop stalking now.

  • Amber says:

    Haaaa! You crack me up with the ex comment!

  • Hello Kitty Fan says:

    Is this considered an “outing”?

  • c.j. says:

    fuck a blog. i got my 1000mm telephoto right hurr, and it’s time to pluck the eyebrows, missy.

  • Michelle says:

    De-lurking! I’ve been acquainted with you since the old wedding board days! I follow along with your blog because you’re an inspiration to me. I have my own “bucket o’issues” and to know that someone can prevail and come out on the other side a much better person tells me that there is hope for me too!

  • Anne says:

    I’m a total lurker. It’s just that blogs (and the Internets in general) are so much more interesting that my job most of the time. Can’t remember how I found your blog – but it’s fun. Thanks for posting!

  • mingaling says:

    Ms. Pickle – PLEASE stalk me. I adore you!

    meagan – no no… nothing to be sorry about. I just want y’all to feel welcome.

    james – definitely not as much as you

    G – email me. seriously. this is dumb and it should be better.

    Danielle – welcome! I *love* Dr. Feil, and I found him through 2 other bloggers!

    Kristin – hello again!

    Kelley – doubtful

    Amber – it was hard to resist. I mean, it’s SO obvious.

    HKF – you’re outed!

    c.j. – you crack me up. we have to get together next time I’m down there!

    Miche! it’s been a while!

    Anne – thanks! stop by often!

    (phew – that was a lot!!!)

  • atlkortez says:

    holy crap blogman. 24 comments. Not too shabby, of course I’m one of those people that leave comments and make you think.. “who the hell is this guy” but I just make the rounds on the metroblog sites. But you do have a good site. Plus look what happens when a stalker becomes someone that makes you squeal when he calls first.

  • Courtney says:

    Eek! I am peer pressured into posting! I like to check out your Flickr (because you take such cute shots), but you already knew that, didn’t you … πŸ˜‰

  • andrea NM says:

    I didn’t know you could see who checks your blogs. Shit. No more blog stalking from work. Funny about the ex stuff. Love ya!

  • Sara says:

    I am embarrassed because I guess I stalk. But really! I have an excuse! I am a SAHM to an 18 month old and I’m 9 months pregnant and on bedrest! I HAVE to click on sites about 29893849348 times a day to see if I have something new to read. πŸ˜‰

  • Tiffany says:

    I used to read your site awhile ago but then atlbloggers went down and I stopped checking to see if the site was up and running again. If I remember correctly, you were dating/living with some guy you referred to as “the boy”. Did ya’ll break up??? You always looked like the happy couple shopping at Ikea!

  • mingaling says:

    corks, and, sara – you guys crack me up!

    tiffany – hey! yes, the boy and i broke up and i’ve moved on to happier things.

  • BooBoo says:

    I don’t lurk or stalk I just booboo…I have always loved reading your blog. It helps with the long hours at the office. I wouldn’t know about bluefly or the Bliss oxygen mask or The Decemberists or…you get the picture. It’s nice to see you are happier, too:)

  • Matt says:

    Hello,
    I am an admited lurker. I found your site via ATLbloggers and have enjoyed it immensely. Your posts are always interesting and usually very funny. You have helped me on many a boring day at the office and helped me become acclimated to ATL (relatively new transplant). Thanks.
    Wish you all the best,
    -Matt

  • Donna says:

    Uh oh, busted! Since I live in Charlotte, now I feel guilty by association. I just like seeing what some of the people from the wedding board days are up to, and I get great ideas and shopping sites from your bolg.

  • james says:

    hah hah…indeed. love that thing. think i’ll check in right now

  • PT says:

    I check atlbloggers occasionally now, and only went to one APWBWGTTD event as bfred’s dis-honored guest…let him tell you about me, since I doubt you remember me.

    I’d like to say that obtaining details on your visitors is a sense of stalking in and of itself. I used to check on my site’s visitors a lot, but knowing who has and who hasn’t visited your site is equally as bad, particularly since most non-bloggers don’t know about the “site stalking/lurking” tools available to us, and aren’t ultra-paranoid about IP protection or cookies.

    I’m for aggregated stats now. Try it, you just might like it.

  • mingaling says:

    Um, okay. I do remember you, and I do know my boyfriend knows you. You were a bit quiet as I remember.

    I guess I should also not keep track of people coming in and out of my office or home. Or maybe the library should forget about all the books I’ve ever borrowed. Then the FBI would never know! Muahahahah!

    I’m for aggregated stats now. Try it, you just might like it.

    I have, and I didn’t, but thanks for the tip.

  • PT says:

    I’m not a big fan of your analogies. I would say a better one might be posting a “For Sale” yard sign, and taking note of everyone who passed by and slowed enough to jot the number is more apropos.

    But being an economist and libertarian (lowercase “l”) at heart, I understand that tech tools wouldn’t exist if there weren’t a market for them, and for that I say our differences in personal choice are not only valuable, but critical.

    “Quiet”…hmmm…that’s not one I often hear.

    Hi to boybafriend for me, since I doubt I’ll find him doing personalized reenactments of his famed bike crash at the crowded Dogwood Festival.

  • bobafred says:

    i kinda feel like i’m being stalked now.

  • Christina says:

    Harrumph. I guess I’ve been caught. Long time listener, first time caller. Thanks for the witty writing!

  • Anna says:

    Yup, I admit it. I lurk. I lurk on a few blogs that I have found over the years. Your writing is fun and witty and I enjoy it. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Lurkers and Blogstalking at mingaling.

meta

