Welcome to Atlanta?

July 13, 2007 § 3 Comments

Our annual girls get-together will be taking place right in my very own city this year. I’m happy to play tour guide, as well, and I thought it would be fun to put together a little mix CD of songs that have to do with Atlanta. I’ll be including the obvious players (OutKast, et al), and will be including some Atlanta-ish groups (B-52s, REM) as well.

I did some googling to see if there were any obscure songs I might have missed, and came across this little gem called F.I.L.A. (Forever I love Atlanta):

Imma grady baby atl!
and all my life da avis so crunk as hell
you dont wanna step too close or go too far
cuz weh im from shawty niggas beat you down with they car
FILA brought up from my head to my feet
niggas on da block wit da rock they dont sleep
man South Dekalb mall be the crunkest shit
uh you can roll to buckhead and gone fall on a bitch
im a giant ass playa ill stomp on a hata
imma pop this shit off in zone 3 to decatur

Hmmm… I think I’m going to go ahead and cross that one off the list.

§ 3 Responses to Welcome to Atlanta?

  • c.j. says:

    but will you be smoking that georgia pine?

  • Oliver says:

    Make sure you include Kilo Ali’s Love In Your Mouth (with cameo from Outkast). The first line is “I met this girl in Atlanta.” The rest would make a sailor blush. Gel and Weave and Let Me Get My Nails Did are also a big winners. If you need ANY help with obscure ATL ghetto booty shake or hip hop, I gotcha covered.

  • Smoove D says:

    Man, that shit is old school. Buckhead ain’t nothin’ but vertical trailer parks for the doucheoisie and “upscale” shopping now.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Welcome to Atlanta? at mingaling.

meta

