Three Ohs

October 2, 2007 § 4 Comments

Some of you already know by now that I turned 30 last month. I wasn’t overly worried about it, but not terribly ignorant of the fact, but I just let things flow like I always have (hey, it worked for 29 years).

I celebrated with friends labor day weekend, a week earlier, because my family was coming into town on my real birthday weekend. Fake birthday celebration started off like every one should with a bunch of good friends and good food at Baraonda. Their prosciutto and arugula pizza is so good that it makes the word “good” sound like a paltry fart of a description. Afterwards, we hit The Highlander where I proceeded to get schooled in both Golden Tee and air hockey by boys. Then the highlight of the evening came when we went dancing at the Clermont Lounge. After looking at the gals at the Clermont, being 30 was going to be a fucking breeze. Last, but certainly not least, I got to end the night at everyone’s favorite greasy spoon.

At the Clermont

For real birthday, my family rolled into town for a night in Atlanta followed by a couple of nights in a cabin up in Helen. We took my niece to the zoo for the first time. She was not impressed by much, but later caught sight of the pandas with my mom and was delighted.

Jordin and Mom

It was so great having them here, seeing the house, getting to walk to Sun In My Belly for brunch, hanging out with my sister and brother in law at our neighborhood bar, then sobering up with some Krystal … I was over the moon. And of course we headed to Doraville and had some Korean bbq, which my very caucasian brother in law even loved! The cabin in Helen was so relaxing. It was definitely nice to have everyone together again.

mosaic3964952

As if that wasn’t enough, we repeated the awesomeness that is Oktoberfest in Helen with another cabin trip with friends (we celebrated fake birthday #29 with Oktoberfest last year).

mosaic9309461

I’ve never had this much fun surrounding my birthday, and when I look around I just feel incredibly lucky and happy and yes, I get a little mushy inside. So that’s what I’ve been doing instead of blogging – enjoying every minute that 30 has brought me and more. I think I may be just getting to the good stuff.

§ 4 Responses to Three Ohs

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Three Ohs at mingaling.

meta

