The Music of My Youth

May 22, 2008 § 4 Comments

On my last trip home, I came across a jackpot of nostalgia. Between 16 and 18 years old, I had a habit of collecting ticket stubs to concerts and shows, and looking through these guys really brought back some memories.

Most of the shows I had actual paper tickets for were the larger ones, of course, usually seen at what was known as the Orlando O-rena (seriously). The “cool” venue at the time was a club called The Edge, which was also downtown and later converted into a country western bar complete with outdoor bull riding. Again, seriously. The Edge was pretty much the coolest place ever for a teen girl who wanted to see bands and sneak drinks into her system bought by older surly indie boys. After these shows, we’d usually head over to Colonial Drive to the 24-hour IHOP and drink gallons of coffee and munch on pancakes until we couldn’t stay awake any longer.

I also got to see one of my favorite bands of all time before the singer died. Nirvana did not come to Orlando oddly enough. Instead, the show was in Lakeland, Florida, a town where no one really goes to on purpose. I remember very clearly meeting up at my then boyfriend’s house and heading to Lakeland in a someone’s mom’s minivan. We arrived at the Lakeland Ampitheater and realized it was pretty much a giant tin shed where people would see shows and play indoor soccer. Hmm. But the show itself was amazing, and although it will always age me, I remember exactly where and when I first heard Smells Like Teen Spirit and then lost my fucking mind. Music really was never the same for me.

There was also a time where the idea of going to an outdoor musical fest didn’t make me feel like vomiting from heat exhaustion and freak from personal space invasion by sweaty bodies other than my own. I got to see the second Lollapalooza tour, which was headlined by the Red Hot Chili Peppers. I remember being incredibly hot and bored for most of it, but I did dance my ass off to The Jesus & Mary Chain, bounced to Cypress Hill, and love love loved Rage Against the Machine. Otherwise, I could have been okay with being grounded again (which I why I couldn’t go to the first one. Lame.).

I’ve also got ticket stubs to Morrissey (insert nostalgic swoon), who I had to see at the University of Central Florida Arena (read: indoor basketball court). He was lovely, just a dear, gorgeous voice… sigh. And then there is another favorite band of all time – Fugazi. My high school beau introduced the whole DC punk scene to me, and it began the whole love of the genre in my life. Also notice the price – $5 shows! We owe you nothing you have no control.

Of course there are other missing tickets and long gone hand stamps… Archers of Loaf at The Edge, then them coming back to my bf’s apartment and eating spaghetti and drinking Jack Daniels together, Superchunk in Gainesville and realizing that some shows really are worth the drive, and more… memories.

Memories
Memories

§ 4 Responses to The Music of My Youth

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The Music of My Youth at mingaling.

meta

