The blues

July 24, 2008 § 6 Comments

So yeah, summertime and the beach go hand in hand, but while I’m daydreaming about my trip back to Florida next week, I’m stuck in here in hot smoggy Atlanta dealing with what I’ve got. Blueberries. TONS of them.


(image via dr. superfoods)

Blueberries practically scream summer to me, and I’m pretty sure I eat more than any human should consume. My fridge at work always has at least one pint of them, as I throw them in my lame no-sugar added instant oatmeal. I pop in a few more after lunch/ before leaving, and next thing you know I’ve eaten 4 pints in two days. Ooops. Thankfully they’re really healthy and good for you. Imagine that, me eating something healthy… on purpose.

But if healthy isn’t your thing, you must try this fantastic Mama’s Blueberry Buckle recipe that I snagged out of CL a few years ago. This is always a winner, especially for summer grills and get-togethers with friends. It’s also a perfect excuse to have ice cream. Oh, and a pint of blueberries is currently only $2.50 at Whole Foods… GO!

§ 6 Responses to The blues

  • dan says:

    Sorry Atlanta is hot and smoggy. The weather in Orlando is perfect today. Been reading your blog for a while now and have never commented before. Originally started reading your blog since my sister’s blog had a link to it. That Blueberry Buckle sounds amazing and we just got a new Whole Foods in Orlando near my job. I think I know what I may have to do with my free afternoon. Thanks!

  • mingaling says:

    Thanks for commenting. You must try the buckle – it really is as good as it sounds.

    Hope the weather stays nice – will be down there next week!

  • dan says:

    The recipe may look easy, but I am an awful baker. Something about measuring things always throws me off. I am the guy who goes to make chocolate chip cookies and forgets to put the chocolate chips in. Yes, my baking skills are that bad. Coming to Orlando for work or vacation?

  • mingaling says:

    Family. My sister is birthing!

  • dan says:

    Congratulations on becoming an auntie again! I’m always afraid to hold new babies. Irrational fear of breaking them or something. Well, if you get bored in Orlando, feel free to hit me up to go out for drinks or something. I always love meeting people whose blogs I read. It’s how I met my boyfriend 3 years ago. Have a great week!

  • mingaling says:

    Absolutely! We will take many photos and send some to HG šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The blues at mingaling.

meta

