Cupcakes don’t grow on trees

September 18, 2008 § 12 Comments

Neither does money, so I decided to do the d.i.y. route (to a certain degree) with my cupcake tower/tree. I actually just ordered the basic cardboard design from CupcakeTree.com since it was reasonably priced and I can’t cut forms very well. Plus, it’s recyclable. But you can definitely build yours out of things like styrofoam cake forms and stuff, if that’s your cup of tea.

To decorate it, I ordered these large sheets of wrapping paper with maps of Italy on them. Since the Mr. is Italian, so I thought this would be a great little way to celebrate his heritage.

So here’s how to do it:

I took the rounds for each tier, traced, cut, and glued the paper onto them.

Papering the tier plates

I then painted the little “lifts” for each level black, since it would fade into the background.

Painting tier lifts

Next I glued a cord trim around each round tier. I found a really pretty green one at Hobby Lobby for $0.38 a yard! Then I glued black velvet ribbon to each tier lift that was facing outward (to cover the corrugated cardboard ugliness).

Gluing trim to tiers

Crafty

And here’s the finished product:

Our cupcake tower is finished

Closeup of top tier:

Our cupcake tower is finished

Total time: 1 hour. Total cost: +/- $60

So don’t buy or rent your cupcake tree – make yourself a pretty, personalized one!

§ 12 Responses to Cupcakes don’t grow on trees

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Cupcakes don’t grow on trees at mingaling.

meta

