Obla di, obla da – part one

December 17, 2008 § 2 Comments

So I sort of got the verbal spanking from my fellow APWBWGTTDers about not posting a wedding recap yet. It’s not that I don’t have anything to say about it (we done got y’all pictures, folks!), but it’s more like a tremendously incredible event that is nearly impossible to put into words. But here’s my attempt at the weekend’s events.

My family arrived Thursday, and we settled them into the hotel. It was pretty easy considering they’re not the best at traveling, plus my sister has two little ones. The Mr. and I got to spend some time hanging out with my sister and brother in law (CHUCK!), which was fun. By the way, Famous Pub has an awesome club sandwich.

Friday ended up being incredibly cold and rainy. I pretty much knew the weather was going to be shite for the weekend due to my obsessive rss-feed checking anyway. My sis and I walked down the street for breakfast at Sun In My Belly, the commenced the pre-wedding errand festivities. Unfortunately for her, this included dropping the dog off at the doggie hotel, so she got to experience the joy of riding in the car with Molly crying for a good 15 minutes straight. We then got our nails done, then hopped over to Whole Foods to pick up flowers.

In Whole Foods, we must have looked like complete idiots because we kind of just stared at the flowers for a long time. Jami was trying to be helpful and all, but I really had no idea what I wanted. I mean, they’re all nice, but they’re just going to die. All of them – so what’s the point? Finally she told me to stop fucking around, and I finally decided on “creams” and “greens”, so we ended up getting a ton of pretty vendela roses, hydrangeas, seeded eucalyptus, and other random things. We stashed them in the fridge overnight, and make bouquets the next morning. Best thing? 5 bouquets for $72!

We had a really delicious rehearsal dinner at China Delight. It was super easy to book on a Friday night since almost no Chinese go out to dinner on Friday nights (a little bit of trivia for you people), so they put up these cubicle looking walls and made us our own little creepy corner in a giant empty dining room. I did the traditional qipao, but the Mr. got away with a tie. The food was incredible, though, and I was thoroughly happy with everything (mom was too, score!). I also had no idea how many people are freaked out by traditional asian food. There’s more to life than going to restaurants with the word “panda” in them! After dinner, we had cocktails back at the hotel and we got to see a few more folks that flew in later that day.

The Mr. and I then headed back to our room for some slumber. A lot of people were also surprised by this, which, really? We LIVE together. I don’t like sleeping without him, and I think he feels the same 😉

On to part two – the wedding day…

§ 2 Responses to Obla di, obla da – part one

  • Tiffany says:

    I loved ready your post….I can relate to family’s reaction to the traditional asian food. We had our rehearsal dinner at Golden Budha (sp?) on Friday night. There were some rather strange types of fishy things. Since my father-in-law knows the owners we had a few more options with the menu….Someone actually asked if we were going to serve pig noses…..uh that would be a no.

  • Tiffany says:

    note….i have a sinus infection and i am on drugs…..disregard type-os!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Obla di, obla da – part one at mingaling.

meta

