Grocery Ghetto

June 3, 2009 § 7 Comments

Lately the Mr. and I have been noticing the serious lack of good grocery access around our neighborhood.  Not that there are a lack of stores, per se, but each and every one of them tend to suck in one area or another.

Good produce seems to be really hard to find.  Baby Kroger (downtown Decatur) is by far the worst.  I can’t tell you how many times I’ve picked something up only to have it disintegrate into rotten mush in my hands.  Crazy Kroger (Edgewood) is only slightly better, followed by Magic Kroger (Dekalb Indust.) and Ghetto Publix (East Lake). If I’m alone (rarely as we almost always shop together) I will trek over to my old ‘hood and hit up the Poncey Highland Publix… swoon.

Of course we are so very close to the Your Dekalb Farmer’s Market, which is good (although it’s damn smelly), but therein lies another problem:  the multi-store shopping trip. YDFM is great for produce, meats, and dry goods (spices, grains, etc.).   Need some totally awesome obscure cheese from Switzerland?  Got it.  Need toilet paper?  Coke?  Cheez-Its?  Nope.  Same thing with Trader Joe’s – specific stuff, yes.  Anything else:  SOL.

Plus there’s the Asian issue.  This girl needs her mantou and 40 lb. bags of rice, and I can’t get any Chinese goodies nearby.  So that’s an additional trek to Super H Mart or BuHi Farmer’s Market (at least it’s a good excuse to have good food on BuHi).

Am I the only person in Atlanta who has to go grocery shopping at 4-5 different stores?

§ 7 Responses to Grocery Ghetto

  • sabrina says:

    I’m with you. Kroger typically brings out the HATE in me. I’m usually at the Publix on Ponce or at Whole Foods (aka Whole Paycheck…and that’s the truth).

  • mingaling says:

    I heart Publix on Ponce. And Whole Foods is good at times, but you’re right about the $$$ (and their fruit has screwed me over more than once, too).

  • duane says:

    I agree 100000000% I hate all of our local grocery stores, but I am too lazy to go elsewhere.

  • j rachels says:

    Have you tried the Kroger at Dekalb Industrial and N Decatur? It’s my favorite grocery store in Atlanta. I’m a Publix hater. I’m a little obsessive, and have actually tested my theory that it as expensive as Whole Foods- it is. Seriously. The alcohol is *more* expensive. To me, it comes down to this: I get better quality produce and meat when I stop acting like an American and insist that everything in the world be available to me in one building.

  • mingaling says:

    Ah, that is the one I call Magic Kroger (corrected the street address). It’s…meh.
    I am from Florida, which is probably why I like Publix so much. It’s not cheap, but it’s a whole lot better than Kroger.

    Also, it would be a little tough to pull off the European/Asian market experience – can’t walk to any local markets around here, plus I budget better if I make it at least a weekly trip.

  • j rachels says:

    Ahhh, I get the sentimental connection to grocery stores: hence my connection to YDFM. when I was a kid, it was actually in my neighborhood in Medlock. If you think it’s stinky now… :[

  • bobafred says:

    i like that Cheez-Its is on the list of specialty items not available at YDFM.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Grocery Ghetto at mingaling.

meta

