Our latest project

July 7, 2009 § 7 Comments

bambino

Yes, we’re expecting either a Babyfred or Miniming! We are obviously thrilled and completely overwhelmed with excitement, not to mention incredibly grateful to be so blessed.

The first few weeks were a rollercoaster for us.  We went from shocked to excited when we tested positive (I made him come with me to the drugstore for a second test because I didn’t believe the first one).  But when we went to the doctor, they could not find the fetus and said that a miscarriage or ectopic pregnancy was likely.  We were told to go home and take it easy, making sure I had my HCG paperwork with me in case I needed to go to the ER.

Of course, I was in tears that entire week and the Mr. was just in shock.  People kept asking me what was wrong, and I gave half-hearted vague answers until I couldn’t take it anymore.  How are you supposed to explain to someone that you’re not sure if you are pregnant or not, or if you will be tomorrow?  Was it a fluke because it happened so soon after starting to “try”?  Was I being punished for something?  It was as if my body had taken me hostage and I couldn’t do anything about it.

But more and more tests showed my HCG levels were still doubling, and another ultrasound finally showed a fetus!  In the right place and with a heart beat!  It turns out all our calculations were wrong and I was much earlier in the pregnancy than thought to be.  We completed our 12 week NT scan and bloodwork, and things seem fine.  The color has finally came back to my face, although I sometimes still hold my breath whenever I feel the slightest bit “off” or read something about possible future complications.

The biggest thing that has happened thus far is that I now know how fragile life can be.  I don’t kid myself into thinking that everything is fine and I don’t have anything more to worry about.  Complications happen.  You can do everything by the book, but it can all slip away in an instant.  All I can say is that I’ve never been more thankful in my life to have this experience, and we’re over the moon about meeting the newest member of our family in January.

§ 7 Responses to Our latest project

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Our latest project at mingaling.

meta

