Party like it’s 2007

November 11, 2009 § Leave a comment

Party like it's 2007

So after holding out for 2 years, I finally upgraded my Tiger OSX to Leopard.  No, not that Leopard.

I’m sure I’ve said this 1,000 times over, but I love my Mac PowerBook G4.  It’s the old-school power pc mac, and it worked flawlessly since the minute I got it into my hot little hands.  Tiger was a fantastic OS, but now with a lot of software being Leopard+ compatible, I succumbed (bitterly, because I’m cheap and pessimistic).

The install wasn’t flawless, however.  There was this not-so-cute habit of kicking me off the network every time I tried to download an update (ironically, the keychain update that eventually fixed this, so I had to get my husband to download it to a USB stick for me).  (This is also the part where I started screaming OMFG over and over, throwing a tantrum, scaring my husband, and swearing I’m switching to a Linux machine next time). Then iTunes decided not to work for a bit.

Both were eventually fixed, though I’m not seeing much of a difference from Tiger.  I do like the Time Machine feature, but it was just as easy to plug in my external HD and drag and drop.  My main concern is that I don’t want to be one of those people that starts complaining about their Mac.  Seriously, I can’t even count the number of tweets I’ve read (crossing fingers that they have issues because they’re Intel macs).  Sigh… I’m hoping this wasn’t a very stupid expensive mistake.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Party like it’s 2007 at mingaling.

meta

