Working Girl

March 21, 2010 § 1 Comment

March

My maternity leave is coming to an end this month, and I can’t believe how the time has flown by.  I’m looking forward to going back if only to be able to have conversations with adults (well, close enough) on an ongoing basis (and a reason to not stay in my pajamas all day), but of course I’m going to miss having the little one with me all the time just when she’s becoming much more interactive and fun.

Finding daycare here in Atlanta was just short of a freaking nightmare.  People really aren’t kidding when they say you need to get on waiting lists before you get pregnant (which we could never do because that’s just fucking creepy).  We had gotten ourselves onto 6 waiting lists, and we finally just got the call from one of them.  Thankfully it’s one of the better & affordable ones we were hoping to get into, so we are thrilled and assured that she will do well there.  Plus it’s right between work and home, and it’s close enough to work to where I can visit her during the day.

And of course I’m already having back-to-work jitters… fretting about pumping and schedules and just missing the hell out of her, but I’m preparing as much as one possibly can and hopefully I won’t have much of a meltdown the first day we drop her off.  Hopefully.

§ One Response to Working Girl

  • Jackie says:

    It seems like last week that Mia was born! Glad you got the daycare dilemma solved. It was the singular most stressful thing about C being born. Good luck on the actual first day back – unfortunately I can bet it will suck, but can also bet you’ll soon be glad you went back. And for the record, I’m all over watching her if we ever move back.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Working Girl at mingaling.

meta

