Becoming High Maintenance

June 7, 2010 § 1 Comment

I’d like to think of myself as pretty low maintenance (yes, even my husband will vouch for me).  I haven’t colored my hair in years and only require a trim every 10 weeks or so, and the only regular gig I go to is to get a pedicure.  Everything else seemed more of a “spa” treat when I could fit it in or when it was in dire need.  I do splurge on one or two products, but in general I use pretty good drugstore variety stuffs.  But as of late I’ve been seriously lacking some good judgment in the appearance category, mostly in the hair and face category, and there needed to be some changes.

I had a crazy bad breakouts after having the baby, plus some serious winter dry skin (face dandruff as I like to call it) and I finally caved and got myself a Clarisonic.  Holy moley do I love this thing.  My complexion is so much better now – it really was worth every dang penny.  Plus it runs on a 1-minute timed cycle and I still get to use my own cheap but fantastic Cetaphil cleanser.  Yay!

I’ve always been a tweezer whore.  Ever since I first dealt with brows, I have been OBSESSED with plucking my brows every single morning and night.  The problem here is that I pretty much plucked them to oblivion and they are completely crooked and skinny and one fat hot mess.  Thankfully, Whitney at WAX has taken pity on me and helped clean up my act.  I have been going through brow rehab with her for the last week or so and I haven’t touched those damn tweezers for 11 whole days.  I KNOW.

I had been getting better at getting my hair trimmed regularly, but I am an ass when it comes to my bangs.  For some reason I could not make myself get an appointment and get them trimmed when I know damn well that I am going to mess them up if I try to trim them myself.  Yet every time I go in, I have to sheepishly apologize and explain what the hell I was thinking when I lopped them off all haphazardly and ruined the haircut I previously paid good money for.  Why?  Because I’m a dumbass.  So now I make 2 appointments before leaving Grow – one for my next cut and one for bangs midway.  Was it that hard to figure out, Lori?  Really?  Geez.

And lastly, I kind of balked at all of this thinking that it would take SO much time and I have a baby and a job and blah blah blah, but it really has actually saved me time.  Instead of dealing with breakouts and spending 10-15 min a day plucking hairs out of my face, I can get all this squared away in little to no time at all.  So there, I’m a little more high maintenance than I used to be, but I’m 32 and it was high time I put on my big-girl panties and looked like a grown ass adult.  And you know what?  It’s working.

§ One Response to Becoming High Maintenance

  • Clarisonic says:

    Lori,

    Thanks for the mention of your Clarisonic- glad it is saving you time and showing you a healthier complexion! If you ever have any questions or concerns, please do not hesitate to contact us at 888.525.2747 or info@clarisonic.com.

    Thanks Again and Happy High Maintenance!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Becoming High Maintenance at mingaling.

meta

